Akinwumi Adesina Honored with Obafemi Awolowo Leadership Prize for Exemplary Vision and Commitment

Author: No Comments Share:

Akinwumi Adesina, the President of the African Development Bank (AfDB), has been awarded the prestigious Obafemi Awolowo Leadership Prize.

The award, named after the late Nigerian nationalist Chief Obafemi Awolowo, recognizes individuals who embody the exceptional leadership and ideals demonstrated by Chief Awolowo. Ambassador Dr Tokunbo Awolowo-Dosumu, in applauding Adesina’s achievements, highlighted the alignment of his attributes with those of Chief Awolowo – integrity, credibility, discipline, courage, selflessness, accountability, tenacity, vision, and people-centric leadership.

Former Nigerian President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan praised Adesina, referring to him as a visionary leader dedicated to transforming lives. Adesina, who previously served as Nigeria’s Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, has indeed left an indelible mark on the continent.

The acknowledgment of Adesina’s leadership extended globally, with former UK Prime Minister Tony Blair and President Emeritus of the World Food Prize Foundation, Ambassador Kenneth Quinn, commending his bold initiatives in addressing critical challenges, particularly in the realms of food security and developmental projects.

Quinn remarked, “President Adesina has traversed the African continent evangelizing his profound vision to end childhood stunting through enhanced nutrition; uplifting smallholder farmers, the great majority of them women; providing critical financing for a broad array of infrastructure projects so critical to development and modernization.”

The endorsement of Adesina’s leadership was echoed by former UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon and Global Center on Adaptation CEO Prof. Dr Patrick Verkooijen. They likened his leadership to the exemplary traits of Chief Awolowo, emphasizing his significant contributions to the continent’s progress.

Established in 1992, the Obafemi Awolowo Foundation, a non-profit, non-partisan organization fostering leadership excellence, has recognized luminaries such as Nobel Laureate Wole Soyinka and former South African President Thabo Mbeki. Akinwumi Adesina now joins this illustrious league of distinguished recipients.

The award ceremony, scheduled for March 6, 2024, is poised to be a momentous occasion, featuring an honoree keynote lecture that promises to shed light on Adesina’s exemplary leadership journey and the profound impact of his initiatives on the African continent.

Previous Article

Rihanna Declares Davido’s “Unavailable” as her Song of the Year

Next Article

Nigeria’s FCT Minister Allocates N13.1 Billion for School Upgrades in 2024

You may also like