Five African Football Stars Nominated for 2023 Globe Soccer Awards

Author: No Comments Share:

Five stellar African players have emerged as nominees for the highly anticipated 2023 Globe Soccer Awards. Unveiled on Tuesday, the list includes a diverse mix of male and female footballers, highlighting the continent’s growing influence on the international stage.

The male category boasts four African football titans, each making waves in their respective European clubs. Nigerian striker Victor Osimhen, a pivotal force in Napoli, finds himself in contention alongside Egyptian maestro Mohammed Salah, Moroccan goalkeeper Yassine Bounou, and the formidable Cameroonian shot-stopper Andre Onana of Manchester United. Their inclusion in a pool of luminaries like Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, and Kylian Mbappé underscores the increasing recognition of African talent among the football elite.

Last year’s Emerging Player of the Year, Victor Osimhen, has not only propelled Napoli to a historic league title but has also achieved the highest-ever Ballon d’Or ranking for a Nigerian player, securing the eighth spot. The Napoli star is now a strong favorite for the coveted African Player of the Year award.

On the women’s side, Nigerian and Barcelona sensation Asisat Oshoala stands alone as the sole African representative among the esteemed female nominees. Having clinched a remarkable triple with Barcelona, including the prestigious Champions League, Oshoala is set to contend with football luminaries such as Aitana Bonmati, Sam Kerr, and Alexandra Pop. Her inclusion in this illustrious group solidifies her status as a trailblazer for African women in football.

Pep Guardiola, the mastermind behind Manchester City’s treble-winning season, emerges as a front-runner in the coaching category. His competition includes notable figures like Mikel Arteta, Marcel Koller, and Xavi Hernandez. Guardiola’s exceptional achievements in the English Premier League position him as a top favorite for the coaching Globe Soccer Award, recognizing his strategic brilliance and managerial prowess.

Voting for the Globe Soccer Awards has already commenced and will continue until December 7, with a 30-member jury from the football industry set to make the final selections. The winners of these prestigious awards will be unveiled in a grand event on January 19, 2024.

Previous Article

Federal Government Urges Supreme Court to Prolong Circulation of Old Naira Notes Amid Printing Challenges

Next Article

Nigeria’s Modular Refinery in Imo Begins Operation

You may also like